Saraki is New Senate President

Senator Bukola Saraki (APC-Kwara Central) has been elected unopposed as President of 8th Senate by 57 of 108 senators, with 51 senators, including Senator Ahmed Lawan, absent.

The other senators were at the International Conference Centre, holdinga meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari, to resolve the National Assembly leadership crisis, at the time Saraki was declared President.

Saraki and Lawan have been engaged in a fierce contest to clinch the Senate top job.

APC leadership held a mock election on Saturday to determine which of the aspirants would represent the party to fill the Senate President’s seat.

The former Kwara State governor boycotted the ‘primary’ while he also shunned a meeting convened by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and the one convened by Buhari on Tuesday(today).

Senator Ike Ikweremadu (Enugu West) emerged as the Deputy President by beating Senator Ali Ndume(Borno) 54-20 votes.

Source: Punch

Publish Date: 

Tuesday, 9 June 2015