Fourteen APGA LG chairmen in Imo defect to PDP


Fourteen of the 27 local council chairmen of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and their supporters in Imo State, yesterday, defected to Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in solidarity with Chief Martins Agbaso, who dumped APGA for the latter last week.

The defectors also accused the state chairman of the party of acting as a sole administrator by unilaterally sacking the local government chairmen of the party in the state in total disregard for the party’s constitution.

Addressing newsmen at the Owerri North Secretariat of  the party, on behalf of the defecting chairmen, Evans Mbata said their decision was informed by alleged highhandedness of the state chairman of the party, Peter Ezeobi.

According to Mbata, the chairman acted like a sole administrator taking unilateral decisions that offended allegedly the spirit and letters of the party’s constitution.

He said: “The present APGA state leadership with the support of the national leadership undemocratically and illegally dissolved the local government executives and by extension, the ward executives in 14 local government areas. This raised a lot of dust, agitation, riot, but to no avail because those causing the problem were insensitive to the feelings of the local government leadership.

A point came when we started thinking that the party’s present state chairman was brought to destroy the  party that we cherished and rebuilt after Governor Okorocha had abandoned the party for APC.”

He alleged that the current state chairman with the support of the national chairman forced out Chief Martins Agbaso, who had committed his personal resources to rebuilding the party.

“ The state chairman was working against the man ( Agbaso) we see as a father and a leader, who had led the party for many years, winning elections. To show solidarity, we also have to resign our membership of the party,” he stated.

Source: Sun

Publish Date: 

Friday, 3 October 2014