Ayo Fayose wins Ekiti elections

By Dapo Akinrefon

Mr Peter Ayodele Fayose of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been elected Governor of Ekiti state.

Ayodele-FayoseThe Returning Officer for the 2014 governorship elections and Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Oye-Ekiti, Professor Isaac Azuzu announced the results of the governorship elections in Ekiti State declaring the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, Mr Ayodele Fayose, who was governor of Ekiti State from 29 May 2003 to 16 October 2006, winner of the contest.

Mr Fayose had a total of 203,090 votes to defeat other candidates who participated in the exercise.

APC candidate and incumbent governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi had 120,433 votes.

Fayose also defeated  Labour Party’s Opeyemi  Bamidele who  had  18, 135 votes.

The Returning Officer, before announcing the results, called on the agents of the various political parties that participated in the elections to sign for the results sheet which indicates that they agree to the process and the election result.

Professor Azuzu said ” I wish to announce that Dr Tope Aluko of the PDP and Mr Dele of the National Conscience Party, NCP, have signed the result sheet”.

In the breakdown of the final result, Professor Azuzu said “‎we have come to the grand finale of this exercise. Accord -?268, AA -146, APC-120,433, AD-843, CPP-967, LP 18,125‎, KOWA -222, CPP-967, PDP-203,09‎0, MPPP- 137, NCP-322, PDC-921, PPA-1050, SDP-65, UDP-67

Fayose won the election in all the 16 local government areas of the state, scoring about 57.9 per cent  of the total vote cast.

In Ado-Ekiti, Fayose got 41, 169 votes to beat Fayemi who had  13, 927 votes and Bamidele with 2,065 votes.

While Fayose polled 5,335 votes in Effon Local Government Area,  Fayemi had 3,422 with Bamidele garnering 358 votes.

In Emure Local Government Area, Fayose had 7,086 while Fayemi got 4,332 with Bamidele recording 1,527 votes.

The PDP’s candidate got 11, 200 votes in Oye Local Government Area while the APC candidate polled 10, 176 votes and Labour trailed with 512 votes.

While Fayose had 3,670 votes in Ilejemeje Local Government Area, Fayemi got 3,336 votes and Bamidele garnered 165 votes.

In Ikere Local Government Area, the PDP’s candidate scored 16,197 votes while APC had 7,989, with Labour polling 585.

Fayose also led in Ikole Local Government Area with 14,238 votes with APC scoring 8,804 and Labour Party, 1,259.

The PDP flagbearer hauled in 11,038 votes in Ekiti South West Local Government while APC had 6,745 and Labour Party, 1,413.

While Fayose had 13,814 votes in Ijero Local Governement Area, Fayemi scored 9,348, and Bamidele followed with 1,554 votes.

In Fayose’s Irepodun/Ifelodun Local Government, the PDP candidate polled 13,038 votes while Fayemi came second with 6,834 and Labour coming third with 3,555 votes.

Fayose was also victorious with 12,498 votes in Ekiti East Local Government Area while Fayemi had 8,584 and Bamidele,  762.

In Moba, the PDP candidate scored 8,878 votes, APC had 7994 and Labour 1,000.

Fayose had a vote haul of 10,136 votes in Ise/Orun Local Government to defeat Fayemi who got 5,809 and Bamidele who had 600.

In Gbonyin Local Government Area, the PDP’ candidate had 11,046 votes, APC got 8138 while Labour Party got 714.

Fayose raked in 10,702 votes in Ekiti West Local Government Area while Fayemi had 7,860 and Labour 884.

In Ido-Osi, the PDP candidate had 13,045 votes to beat the APC flag bearer who  had 7134 votes and Labour  candidate who got 1,182.

Source: Vanguard

Publish Date: 

Sunday, 22 June 2014